2020 Annual Meeting

Your AAR staff continues to work toward holding the Annual Meeting in Boston, Nov. 21-24, 2020. We are aware of the uncertainty and contradictory projections related to the COVID-19 pandemic and with health and safety as a priority, we will continue monitoring the guidance of governments and health experts as we plan and make decisions. Should any changes need to be made related to the 2020 Annual Meeting, we will promptly notify you.

2020 Regional Meetings

Open Registration:

All remaining regional meetings for 2020 have been canceled

AAR Grants & Awards Programs

Each year, the AAR awards tens of thousands of dollars to members in the form of grants, including those to support research, regional development, and access to the Annual Meeting. In addition to grant funding, the AAR annually awards thousands of dollars to recognize exceptional scholars and teachers. Grant recipients and award winners are acknowledged each year in AAR publications and through Annual Meeting events and special topics forums. Jurors for the grant and award programs adhere to the AAR’s policies and rules governing issues of conflict of interest, confidentiality, and notification and publicity procedures.




AAR GRANTS and FELLOWSHIPS  Program Cycle Submission Deadlines
Annual Meeting Travel Grants Month of April Mid-April
Annual Meeting Religion and the Arts Travel Grant Month of April Mid-April
Public Engagement Funding - Whiting Foundation funding nominations   March 30
Collaborative International Research Grants May 1 - October 1 October 1
Graduate Student Grant Awards
International Dissertation Research Grants
August 15 - December 1 December 1
Graduate Student Grant Awards
Selva J. Raj Endowed Fellowship
August 15 - December 1 December 1
Regional Development Grants February 1 - June 1 June 1
Research Grants - Individual May 1 - August 1 August 1
Research Grants - Collaborative May 1 - August 1 August 1


AAR AWARDS Nomination Deadlines
Book Awards February 10
Excellence in Teaching Award August 1
Journalism Awards March 6
Martin E. Marty Public Understanding
of Religion Award
January 25
Ray L. Hart Service Award February 1
Religion and the Arts Award February 1