2020 Annual Meeting

Your AAR staff continues to work toward holding the Annual Meeting in Boston, Nov. 21-24, 2020. We are aware of the uncertainty and contradictory projections related to the COVID-19 pandemic and with health and safety as a priority, we will continue monitoring the guidance of governments and health experts as we plan and make decisions. Should any changes need to be made related to the 2020 Annual Meeting, we will promptly notify you.

2020 Regional Meetings

Open Registration:

All remaining regional meetings for 2020 have been canceled

Award for Excellence in Teaching

The American Academy of Religion Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes the importance of teaching, and honors outstanding teaching in the field. The Teaching and Learning Committee acknowledges that the higher education landscape has shifted considerably in recent years, and that these shifts affect teaching and learning about religion. To this end, the Committee underscores the importance of recognizing teaching excellence across a wide variety of contexts. 




Jill DeTemple
Southern Methodist University


Lynn S. Neal
Wake Forest University


Joanne Maguire Robinson
University of North Carolina at Charlotte


Judith L. Bishop
Mills College

  • Teaching Statement

Shafique N. Virani
University of Toronto


Carolyn Medine
University of Georgia


Martha J. Reineke
University of Northern Iowa


Katie Geneva Cannon
Union Theological Seminary-Presbyterian School of Christian Education


Barbara (Bobbi) Patterson
Emory University


Kwok Pui Lan
Episcopal Divinity School


Fred Glennon
Le Moyne College


Stacey Floyd-Thomas
Brite Divinity School, Texas Christian University


Patricia O'Connell Killen
Pacific Lutheran University


Zayn Kassam
Pomona College


Timothy Renick
Georgia State University

2003    Janet Walton
Union Theological Seminary
2002   William Placher
Wabash College
2001   Eugene Gallagher
Connecticut College
2000   Tina Pippin
Agnes Scott College


We invite nominations for the AAR Award for Excellence in Teaching. Nominees should have at least five years of experience teaching in higher education, broadly conceived. 


  • Outstanding pedagogical performance in a higher education learning context, as demonstrated by the teaching and learning statement, representative syllabi, letters of recommendation, and other evidence of teaching excellence.
  • Development of innovative and/or exceptionally effective teaching methods, courses, and curricular materials, examples of which might include community-based education, grant projects on pedagogy, effective program design, contributions to the scholarship of teaching and learning, and/or contributions to teaching as a means of enhancing the public understanding of religion.
  • Commitment to professional identity as a teacher of religion, including student or peer mentoring, workshop facilitation or design, and/or educational leadership at the local institution or professional societies.
  • At least five years’ experience teaching in a higher education learning context.


Members of the Committee on Teaching and Learning will assess the applications.

The announcement of the award winner will be made in January 2021.  

Application Process

All application packages must include the following materials:

  • A one-page cover letter wherein the nominee should outline the nomination materials and highlight their achievements with respect to the criteria listed above.
  • Two representative recent syllabi, along with supporting documentation such as descriptions of particularly effective learning activities and/or assignments.
  • A teaching and learning statement of no more than 1000 words in which the nominee should respond to the following:

    • Describe the context in which you teach about religion and how you practice effective pedagogy therein.
    • Describe the pedagogical arc and purpose of your syllabi.
    • Describe a pedagogical situation where you know your students are learning. 
  • Two (2) letters of recommendation from colleagues that can knowledgeably discuss the nominee’s achievements in teaching and learning about religion.
  • A curriculum vitae of no more than three pages that fronts achievements in teaching and learning.

August 1 is the deadline by which nominations, and any information in support of them, must be received.

Nomination materials may be mailed or submitted electronically through the online submission system.

If mailing nomination materials, send to:

Excellence in Teaching Award
American Academy of Religion
825 Houston Mill RD NE STE 300
Atlanta, GA 30329-4205

For questions, please contact Marchell Jackson at:

Phone: 1-404-727-2286