





REGISTRATION RATES INCREASE AFTER MAY 19!

Register today for the 2016 AAR Annual Meeting! Register today at the lowest rate all year with your AAR member discount. Rates go up after May 19, 11:59 PM Eastern Daylight Time. AAR has arranged special hotel rates with San Antonio hotels; book early to get your preferred hotel.

2016 ANNUAL MEETING TRAVEL GRANT WINNERS ANNOUNCED Religion and the Arts Travel Grant

The AAR is pleased to announce that Kyrah Daniels of Harvard University is the winner of the Religion and the Arts Travel Grant. This grant, funded by Diane Apostolos-Cappadona, Georgetown University, is designed for a graduate student studying Religion and the Arts who is without institutional support to attend the AAR Annual Meeting. For the grant in 2016, the AAR received 13 applications. The jury evaluated each application based on need, active record of membership and involvement in AAR activities, and promising contributions to religion and the arts at this year's Annual Meeting.

Annual Meeting Travel Grants

The AAR is pleased to announce the winners of our <u>Annual Meeting Travel Grants</u>. These grants are designed to aid members with financial need, especially students, contingent faculty, and international members, to attend the Annual Meeting. For these 25 grants for 2016, the AAR received 81 applications. The jury was impressed with the qualifications and achievements represented in the applicant pool, and exercised great care in evaluating each application to identify candidates based on need, candidates with the most active records of membership and involvement in the AAR, and candidates with the most promising contributions to this year's meeting.

The 25 grantees are

Sophia Arjana, Boulder, CO

Hunter Bandy, Duke University

Sravana Borkatakay-Varma, Rice University

Stephanie Corigliano, Humboldt State University

Sara Fretheim, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia

Aaron Ghiloni, Trinity College, Queensland

Joel Gruber, University of San Diego

Shekhar Hattangadi, Mumbai, India

Claire Hein Blanton, University of Aberdeen

Hyekyung Jee, Yonsei University

Malene Johnson, Chicago Theological Seminary

Kendrick Kemp, Union Theological Seminary

Jon Kershner, Lancaster University

Wanjoong Kim, Graduate Theological Union

Cory May, University of Aberdeen

Laura McTighe, Columbia University

Dan Moseson, Syracuse University

Aldea Mulhern, University of Toronto

Elaine Nogueira-Godsey, University of Johannesburg

Genevieve Nrenzah, Kumasi, Ghana

Matt Sheedy, University of Manitoba

Michael Sohn, Cleveland State University

Jared Vazquez, University of Denver and Iliff School of Theology

Nargis Virani, Graduate Theological Union

Tobias Zuern, University of Wisconsin

Jurors

The AAR would like to thank the members of the jury for both grants: Christopher Duncanson-Hales, Alex Hwang, Davina Lopez, Matthew Lynch, Evelyn Parker, and Michelene Pesantubbee for their hard work in evaluating all of the applications to reach these decisions.

"RECOVERY" 12-STEP SUPPORT MEETINGS

AAR is currently seeking active members to help coordinate a new gathering at the Annual Meeting geared specifically toward recovering alcoholics, addicts, codependents, and other members of like-minded communities. Responsibilities will include helping to set up and schedule the meetings, as well as helping to provide a welcoming space for open discussion on various topics related to recovery. These meetings will not be officially affiliated with AA or NA but will simply seek to create space for those who desire a clean and sober

conference, and for any others who would benefit from such a gathering. If you are
interested in being a part of this important initiative, please contact Kathleen McMahan,
kmcmahan@aarweb.org, or Andrew Smith, professor.andv.smith@gmail.com.
More information about the 2016 Annual Meeting is being added to the <u>AAR website</u> daily.
Be sure to check back frequently for important news and tips.